Trail Recipe: Chicken, Butternut Squash & Quinoa Stew

So, I accidentally bought a butternut squash and not a spaghetti squash like I intended for a dinner recipe later in the week. What do I do? Figure out a way to use it in a meal to dehydrate. Two requirements – it had to not take much work and include stuff I already had in the kitchen. I modified this recipe to fit my needs and get rid of some extra stuff I had lying in the freezer (frozen veggies).

20151018_181421

20151115_145426

Butternut Squash, Chicken and Quinoa Stew

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

20151018_181921

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs butternut squash, peeled, seeded and diced (Steam in the microwave for a few minutes)
  • 1 c chicken stock or broth
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1 1/2 lbs chicken breasts
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped,
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can (14oz) petite diced tomatoes
  • 3/4 c uncooked quinoa
  • 3/4 c frozen spinach
  • 1 c frozen bell peppers
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1-2 tsp parsley
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (optional for spice)

Instructions:

  1. Lightly grease slow cooker with cooking spray.
  2. add in all the ingredients, except the frozen spinach. Stir.20151019_213546
  3. Cook for 3-4 hours on low or 7-8 hours on high. Stir every couple of hours, and make sure quinoa is in liquid to cook. 30 minutes before it is done, stir in spinach.
  4. Remove chicken and shred. Mix back in and enjoy a serving before you dehydrate!
  5. Use a potato masher to mash squash pieces to more of a mush.
  6. Spread stew on dehydrator trays (I used leather liners, but may not have been necessary)
  7. Dehydrate at 140-145 degrees until completely dry (time will vary based on how big your chunks are). Make sure to rotate trays occasionally for even drying. Mine took about 10 hours.

Update 11/15/15:20151115_145013

I re-hydrated a portion of this today on a snowy day hike, also tried out my new Kovea stove; both performing quite well. I didn’t measure the water I added, so it turned more into a soup vs stew, but still very flavorful. The chicken reconstituted good, though a few big chunks were a bit chewy (like jerky) – this didn’t bother be though. And I think this could be fixed by just making sure to shred up the chicken more before dehydrating. I was also a bit impatient and could have let it soaked longer before digging in (I think I only waited like 5 minutes after it boiled).

One thought on “Trail Recipe: Chicken, Butternut Squash & Quinoa Stew

  1. I have a similar recipe. Chicken, sweet potato, quinoa chili. I use canned chicken, that seems to remove the “jerky” chunks. Canned chicken rehydrates better, because it is pressure cooked. This recipe has more veggies then mine, going to have to try it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

