Day 1: I Can See Mexico From Here!

Day 1: Border to Lake Morena. 20.2 miles.

image

Despite the wine, I unfortunately didn’t get much sleep. Not only was I filled with anticipation, but I woke in the middle of the night with an awful sore throat. Thankfully the local store opened up at 6:30 & I was able to get some cold medicine.

My mom would be meeting me at my first nights camp at the local campground. I cheated a little, but didn’t want to take the easy way out. I had a mostly full pack, minus the food I’d need until my next resupply, stove/fuel, chargers, and a few other misc items. All packed up and ready to go, we headed to the southern terminus for the photos!

image

I left the terminus at 7:50 am. My legs were fresh and I walked fairly quick, and the elevation was nothing yet. The first part of the trail has a number of shady spots. Much different than I’d find later in the day. I didn’t lose or gain too much elevation and made 12 miles in just over 4 hours. Oh and I ran into my first rattlesnake, ever! I was slightly terrified the remainder of the walk, and had my eyes peeled!

image

image

image

image

The second stretch was a bit tougher. My legs were getting sore and I was getting hot. I started descending down the summit I was on and saw another  mountain on the other side. Though the trail looked much different, very red and full of switch backs. I figured that couldn’t be where I was headed. I couldn’t make it down a mountain then back up and down another in just 5 miles. Once I got to the bottom, sure enough that’s where I was headed…damn! The hottest part of the day too. It went up and up and up and up, then leveled out then up some more. But I finally made it! I finished the last 8 miles in just under 4 hours. I think I ended up passing about 15 people that started before me…Not bad. Let’s see if I can do it again tomorrow.

image

image

image

image

I then rested shortly at the rv then walked some more, back to the store for a shake!

Stats
20. 2 miles
7:50 a to 3:50 p, 8 hours

Seen:
1 bunny
20 some lizards
1 unknown snake
1 rattlesnake (1 heard)

Ate:
Oatmeal
Banana
Honey bun
Tea
Pb crackers
Dried fruit
Cliff bar
Mini Slim Jim
Electrolyte drink
Skittles
Jack links beef steak
6 liters water on trail – every last drop I had
Milkshake – Lake Morena store
Chili
Applesauce
Yogurt pretzels
Wine
3 liters water at camp

Leave a Reply

