Day 2: That’s Why It’s Called MOUNT Laguna

Day 2: Lake Morena to Mt. Laguna, 21.8 miles (20.2-42)

image

I hit trail this morning at 8:15. I was sore, but as I walked my muscles warmed up and felt good. It was an easy 6 mile walk to Boulder Oaks Campground with a little up and down. A very pretty and geologically interesting stretch. I made it to the campground for a break and to refill water. Today, I planned on only going 17-18 miles and was going to take longer breaks for my aches and pains.

image

image

image

image

image

Now here’s why they call it Mount Laguna. It is indeed up a mountain. Since leaving Boulder Oaks, it was straight accent pretty much the entire way; gaining nearly 3000 ft. The afternoon portion of the trail was very exposed to the sun and quite hot, but gave amazing views.

image

image

image

image

 

Finally at about 430, I reached Long Canyon Creek to refill water and where I had planned on camping. The area didn’t seem quite what I was hoping for to pitch tent, so I’d continue up a mile to a better area at about 5pm. I reached my destination 30 minutes later, and picked a good looking spot. The map said there was water near by, so I went to explore before setting up shop. There was indeed a spring, but it dumped into a nasty fish filled trough. On my exploration, I noticed it hurt more to walk with out my pack on. I sat in the dirt, consulting the maps and way points on my app. It was six o clock and I felt a knot in my stomach. The next town/camping was about 3 miles ahead and I didn’t want to camp alone. Chances were someone would join me, but I didn’t want to stay to find out. Onward I went.

 

I assured myself that it was only about a 200 ft elevation difference and could probably make it there in an hour and a half. So I walked…The scenery changed from open to every a wooded forest. I was making good time. The sun was setting, and the air was prefect. I heard a scramble and looked to my right, sure enough a skunk was just feet away from me. Tail up and all. I thought, Damn, this is going to suck. Thankfully he ran and hid in a tree trunk.

Shortly after I made it to the campground in only an hour! Rock on! But then I ate too much dinner 😦 Man I’m stuffed. But now I can sleep in and procrastinate in town. Oh and I’m not alone!

 

Leave a Reply

