Day 8: All Before Noon

Day 8: mi 98 to mi 115, 17 miles.

Today was a bit of a shorter day, but one of the best yet!

I woke up with a layer of water on my sleeping bad. I guess the grass around me frosted overnight, as well as my sleeping bag. I left my campsite at around 7:40 and headed towards the next water source at Barrel Springs. On my way there, I past my first big milestone – the 100 mile marker! So awesome, there was two. Lol. I guess that’s what you get when they update the mileage on Halfmile.

image

image

I continued on and accomplished mg second milestone – eating my first poptart on trail. Arriving to Barrel Springs at about 8:40, I came came across my 3rd milestone-an on trail Angel! I came around the corner, and saw what I thought was someone having a picnic. Nope! It was past hiker, Red Bass, with goodies for us hikers. He had bottled water (yay for not having to filter, cold soda, candy, and fruit! I had to keep myself to one slice of watermelon or else I would have eaten the whole platter.

image

image

After enjoying myself and chatting, I headed towards Warner Springs where I would meet my mom for my resupply and spend some time at the resource center. The hike was really pleasant, fairly flat and went through some new terrain, like a meadow.

image

image

image

On my way, I stopped by for my fourth big milestone, all before noon! Eagle Rock was quite a cool site, and of course a cool photo opportunity.

image

Onward I went. I reached the Warner Springs Resource Center by 12:30. I made it just in time for lunch. Then I went out to lunch with my mom and step dad to the local golf course. Definitely one of the best pizzas I’ve had! I stocked up my resupply and said see ya later. I stayed at the center a couple more hours then hit the trail again around 4:20.

image

image

I hiked another 5 or so miles until I found camp near a creek. It was quite windy going through the meadows again, but no where near what I’d experience the next day!

image

image

Leave a Reply

