Day 31-33: Recovery

Day 31-33, Tuesday, May 17 – Thursday, May 19:

20160517_060052.jpg

Tuesday was the start of a couple more zeros. I slept in until a bit past 7, as the fog hung over our tents. Once I got up, I had a nice foot soak while I ate my watermelon. A great way to start the day. Later on, I went to the computer tent to update a couple blogs as I was so behind. My mom was going to be meeting me later in the day in Agua Dulce. I also invited the Trail Angel, Mary, for some coffee or lunch. After people watching until about 11:30, I got a ride with Donna (L-Rod) to town. I then went to Sweetwater Café for their Tuesday burger special with Mary, my mom and step-dad. It was neat to learn about Mary and share stories among us all. After lunch, we headed back to Acton to spend some time at the RV resort.

20160517_073826.jpg

My ankles had swelled to double their size and I had an infection brewing on my right foot. Zeros were in order. I spent the next few days relaxing, elevating and soaking my feet. I was going insane again sitting so much. I left every chance I could get, for a trip to Walmart, a walk to the Adult Lounge aka wifi and billiards, Camping World in Santa Clarita and to UFC Gym.

20160517_162935.jpg

By Thursday, the swelling had gone done, though still apparent. I found a UFC Gym was located on the route to Camping World where my mom and step-dad were headed; so of course I went! The facility was amazing and huge! Two stories high, a huge bag and equipment area in the middle surrounded by rooms of various other things (yoga, basketball, DUT, locker rooms, BelaCore, etc). I joined in for a BelaCore class (new to me). Turns out today was leg day L Thankfully, trainer Ellen felt my pain and helped me through upper body routines while the rest of the class worked legs. After class, I of course strapped on some gloves and hit the bag before stopping at Baskin Robins for ice cream.

20160519_175758.jpg

Leave a Reply

