Day 37: The Apocalypse

Day 37 (Monday, May 23):
Hikertown (mi 517.6) to Tylerhorse Canyon (541.6), 24 miles. (up/down: +2450/-661ft)

image

Though I woke up a little later than usual, I was still one of the first to leave Hikertown. I cooked up some oatmeal in the trailer and was on trail at about 7:25a. While packing up it was only 43 degrees, and was only going to reach the low 60’s. I hiked for 2 straight hours and about 6.5 miles before stopping for a break. Those 6 miles didn’t change much.

image

image

image

image

image

image

The thrill of walking the aquaduct quickly become monotonous. It was quite windy, so I walked on the road below. There was no one around me for quite some time. At the beginning of the aquaduct I could see a herd off hikers behind me, which soon after faded – felt and looked like an apocalypse! The aquaduct road lasted 11 long and boring miles, just to turn into yet another dirt road. After my first break, Digger, a retire from the East Coast, caught up with me and we hiked together for at least an hour. This has been the longest I’ve hiked with anyone so far! It was nice to have company for this stretch and we chatted about life and the trail. I passed by the occasional “house”, which made me think why the hell would anyone chose to live out here. Digger answered that question…no one chooses to live out here… We also ran into a huge gopher snake in the middle of the road.

image

image

image

image

Eventually the road led into a windfarm, which lasted forever. I stopped with a small group off hikers at Cottonwood Creek Faucet. I still had more than enough water as I hadn’t drank much in the 50 degree morning. I thought the desert was suppose to be hot! We ran into some very nice trail magic here. First with a bag of Jolly Ranchers (which I may now add to pocket daily), followed by Terrie Anderson with some soda and candy!

image

I had already now gone 17 miles by 1:30 & was going to push on after my hour and a half lunch break. I continued through the windfarm and the wind really picked up! The flat transitioned into some rolling hills which eventually led to one final steep climb into Tylerhorse Canyon where there was campsites and the last water source until Tehachapi!

image

Digger and I where surprised to see that we were the first ones to arrive at about 5:30p. As we set up camp, many more hikers rolled in. I cooked up a delicious ramen beef stroganoff (I now wish I made more for the rest of my trip) and settled into my tent to hide from the wind. I planned to just relax for a while before finishing up my night time routine and perhaps socializing a bit more. I ended passing out at about 7:30 and woke up 2 hours later to find everyone passed out. Turns out that was really the only 2 hours of sleep I’d get that night. I have been sleeping horribly and tonight was no exception 😦

image

Stroganoff!

Ate:

5 liters water
Tuna and tortilla
Oatmeal and hot cocoa
Pop tart
Tiger milk protein bar
Fruit snacks
Beef stroganoff
Trail mix bar
Cliff bar
Candy
Oreos

Leave a Reply

