Day 46-57: Sun & Surprises

Thursday, June 2 – Monday, June  13.

So perfect timing to get off trail! I luckily just missed the Chimney Creek Fire and dipped out during extremely high temperatures which led to quite a bit of snow melt.

On Thursday, we made a trip to Ikea for some couch shopping then hooked up at a local RV park. I then surprised my boss at work by just showing up (my co-workers new). It was definitely a shock for him. I got to do done catching up on the program and kids. That afternoon, I spent the day at the pool working as a staff with a handful of kiddos. It was so nice to see my kids and surprise them. Surprising kids with autism gives for an interesting experience : P That night we met my sister for dinner.

image

I took my first shower in 10 days Friday morning before walking 2.5 miles back to work. There were very few kids at the program today, thus I had no one I needed to work with. There was a going away lunch for another coordinator so I tagged along. Yet again, I surprised everyone there because no one knew I was back. I was glad I joined – one of the most fun goodbye lunches for sure (complete with goodie bags and an awesome speech). I was also able to surprise some of my staff once back at AIM. It almost felt like I never left.

Saturday was another day for surprises. It was hard to not post anything prior to me coming back to Utah, but I didn’t want anyone to know. I took an Uber to my UFC Gym and confused/surprised on of my coaches – she had to take a double look. I just love seeing people’s faces when I show up unexpected (so far all good responses). I stuck around for kickboxing and yoga. Man, I sure miss hitting things. After walking so much, I’ve noticed my body has slowed down significantly. Running isn’t very doable anymore, and upper body strength is gone, but I could do squats all day!

image

After the gym, my boyfriend came down to meet me with my pup, Dakota. It was so nice to see her and she was very excited to see me too. So excited, she of course had to attack me like usual, but this time with some more squeeling, running in circles, and gnawing. From there we took her to Dimple Dell for a walk, but it was way too hot for her feet so we made it a short loop back through the shade and stream. That afternoon, I took a nap! Holy cow, it’s been a while!

image

Sunday, we took Kota for another hike. Somewhere she and James found near Roy, but was new to me. We started early, but not early enough. It got got quick. On the way back, Kota was dying; trying to stop in every tiny piece of shade. It got to the point where we had to carry her to give her a short break. We finally got back to the first big stream crossing where she just laid in the water. The rest of the she literally did not move, until we made her go to Petsmart to pick out a bone and get a nail trim. She was happy to go, but looked like me after a long day of walking – just hobbling. Poor pup.

image

Monday was a long day. I bummed around the house, packed and sorted what would come with me back to Cali and what would stay, and caught up on computer work. Dakota still didn’t move all morning. Finally around 10, I dragged get outside to go potty. A few hours later she surprisingly acted like she wanted a walk. We made it one house down then she just laid in the street refusing to go either way. Silly pup.

image

That afternoon I took the Trax down to Murray where Kaili (UFC Gym coach) picked me up so I could do a couple more classes before I departed (woohoo). Nice to catch up with my fit fam. After a couple classes, the manager took me back to the train station. I got to the station around 8 and my train didn’t leave until 11:30. It was going to be a long wait. The station didn’t even open until 10 so I waited outside joined by the occasional drunk and crackhead…and people are surprised when I say I’ve only been in down town Salt Lake just once.

image

Can't you tell how thrilled I am to ride the Frontrunner for the first time

image

All aboard! Loaded up for my 12 hour train ride. Thankfully it was overnight and I’d be getting some shut eye during the most awful/boring part – Nevada. I woke up just in time for the tail end of the sunrise. Once we finally hit the scenic part starting at the Truckee River I made my way to observation car to enjoy the views!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The next 6 days I spent at my dad’s place about an hour from Tahoe doing a lot of yard work and projects…I gotta make money somehow! I helped build 2 gardens, take down gutters, clean wood floors, deep clean and power wash garage. I’m glad I had stuff to keep me busy or I would have been extremely bored. Each day I also walked to keep my legs in somewhat shape. Not too worry, I did relax as well. I even took another nap along with a trip to the River.

image

image

Whipped Cream @ Squeeze In Truckee

Lastly, Monday was a travel day. My step mom had a friend visiting and we had to drive her to the Reno airport. Along the way we stopped in Truckee and Tahoe for some lake time. One stop was at Emerald Bay and had some miscommunication. I thought they had walked the mile down to the beach, so after parking that is where I headed. Oops. I guess they just were stopping at the Vista point for a picture. I had no cell service and couldn’t be reached. Thankfully I didn’t fall off a cliff like they worried, but I’m terribly sorry for making them worry and delaying their actual plans. After Reno, we drove a couple more hours to get us closer to Kennedy Meadows. Here my dad will park his car and a lovely trail angel will shuttle us down to the Chimney Creek Campground where my dad and step mom will join me for the 20 mile section to Kennedy Meadows.

image

Emerald Bay

image

image

Eagle Falls

image

Bliss Beach

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

